Due to an unexpected and unprecedented midseason league realignment,  the Oregon Blackbears (OBB) will be ceasing play for the remainder of the 2024 season, as it was left out of realignment discussions or voting.  Moving forward, the AFL will retain a 10-team league consisting of-Albany  Firebirds, Billings Outlaws, Nashville Kats, Orlando Predators, Rapid City  Marshalls, Salina Liberty, SW Kansas Storm, Washington Wolfpack, West Texas Desert Hawks, and the Wichita Regulators. 

Today, the Arena Football League (AFL) announced that  Jeff Fisher, current President of Football Operations for the Nashville Kats will serve as the Interim Commissioner of the League. This decision was made by a unanimous vote of the current team ownership groups in alignment with G6 Sports Investment Group, LLC, the owners of the AFL and its  intellectual property.

“While there is disappointment around this decision, and as to my knowledge neither our ownership group nor myself were a part of them, we have very much to be proud of regarding the accomplishments we achieved in this early season.”  Said Pat Johnson, team President. 

Undefeated Start to the Season

OBB began its inaugural season with three consecutive wins, one preseason win and two regular season victories, and two cancellations.

Player Movement

We will be in communication with organizations across other leagues to find potential new homes for our players as they will become free agents due to these circumstances.

About the Oregon Blackbears

The Oregon Blackbears are a professional arena football team.

The Company Can be found at:  https://oregonblackbears.com/home

About the AFL 

The Arena Football League (AFL) can refer to one of three successive professional indoor American football leagues in the United States. The first of these was founded in 1986, and played its first official games in the 1987 season, running for 22 consecutive seasons until going bankrupt following the 2008 season. The second league, consisting largely of teams from the first AFL and arenafootball2 (a minor league majority-owned by the first AFL), purchased the first league's assets out of bankruptcy and resumed play in 2010 as a continuation of the first AFL; this second AFL ran for ten further seasons, before again going bankrupt following the 2019 season. The third and current AFL, which is not directly connected to the previous two iterations of the league but claiming their histories and trademarks, launched in 2024.

The Company(s) can be found at: https://www.arenafootballusa.com/ and https://www.theafl.com/

About G6 Sports Investment Group

G6 SPORTS INVESTMENT GROUP LLC is a Delaware Domestic Limited-Liability Company filed on March 14, 2022. The company's filing status is listed as Active and its File Number is 006677817.

The Registered Agent on file for this company is United States Corporation Agents, Inc. and is located at 221 N Broad St Suite 3a, Middletown, DE 19709.

Media Contact:

Patrick Johnson

[email protected]